Acclaimed leaders to jury inaugural Global Pluralism Award

Acclaimed leaders to jury inaugural Global Pluralism Award

August 17, 2016

A jury of international leaders, chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Canadian Prime Minister, has been named to select the winners of the first inaugural Global Pluralism Award. The Award recognizes individuals and organisations whose high-impact, innovative initiatives are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity. The Award is a program of the Global Centre for Pluralism, an international research and education centre founded by His Highness the Aga Khan in partnership with the Government of Canada.

The members of the jury represent a range of sectors, including local government, the business world and civil society. Through their own work on inclusive citizenship, social welfare and community development, the jury members all appreciate first-hand the extraordinary effort it takes to build societies where differences are valued and respected. Their expertise will inform the selection process for the top three awardees, who will be named at a ceremony in Ottawa, Canada in November 2017 at the Global Centre for Pluralism’s new international headquarters.

The jury includes:

  • The Right Honorable Joe Clark, former Prime Minister and Foreign Affairs Minister of Canada, Canada (Chair)
  • Rima Khalaf, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia, Jordan
  • Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary, Canada
  • Bience Gawanas, Lawyer & Special Advisor to the Minister of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare, Namibia
  • Rigoberta Menchú, Indigenous rights activist & Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Guatemala
  • Pascale Thumerelle, Vice-president, Head of Corporate Social Responsibility, Vivendi, France

The Award is accepting nominations until August 31st, 2016. Each recipient will receive a prize of $50,000 CAD to further their work in support of pluralism.

Bio notes for jury members can be found here.