[et_pb_section bb_built=”1″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.0.69″ background_position_1=”top_left” background_repeat_1=”no-repeat” background_size_1=”initial”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_image _builder_version=”3.0.69″ src=”https://award.pluralism.ca/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/Award-Jury-2019-composite-no-logo.png” show_in_lightbox=”off” url_new_window=”off” use_overlay=”off” sticky=”off” align=”center” always_center_on_mobile=”on” border_style=”solid” force_fullwidth=”off” /][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section][et_pb_section bb_built=”1″ fullwidth=”off” specialty=”off”][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.0.69″][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Launch of the 2019 Global Pluralism Award Selections” _builder_version=”3.0.69″ background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” border_style=”solid”]

Launch of the

2019 Global Pluralism Award Selections

[/et_pb_text][et_pb_text _builder_version=”3.0.69″ background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” border_style=”solid”]

On March 1, an international jury, chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Canadian Prime Minister, will meet in Ottawa to choose finalists for the second biennial Global Pluralism Award. The Award recognizes individuals and organizations who are tackling the challenge of building more peaceful and inclusive societies around the world.

In describing the inaugural award in 2017, Mr. Clark said, “Recognizing the ground-breaking work of these individuals is one of the most important things I’ve done in my career. Each of them, working in incredibly difficult contexts, is paving a road towards mutual understanding and respect for human dignity.”

Jury members are renowned in fields including human rights, education, technology, public policy and corporate social responsibility. Through their work, they have a deep understanding of the effort it takes to build societies where differences are valued and respected. Their expertise will inform a rigorous, multi-stage selection process. Three awardees will be named at a ceremony in Ottawa in November 2019. Each recipient will receive a prize of $50,000 (CAD) to further their work in support of pluralism. A longer list of finalists will also be honoured.

The jury includes:

In all, from a total of 538 nominations and applications, 300 eligible entries from 74 countries were received for this year’s award, representing fields as diverse as peacebuilding, education, the arts and interfaith dialogue. Jurors will review a longlist of 42 entries.

The inaugural Global Pluralism Award was presented at a ceremony in Ottawa in November 2017 to three winners: Alice Wairimu Nderitu (Kenya), a conflict mediator and gender equality advocate; Daniel Webb (Australia), a human rights lawyer working with asylum seekers; and Leyner Palacios Asprilla (Colombia), an advocate for social justice and for victims of the Colombian conflict.

The Award is a program of the Global Centre for Pluralism, an international research and education centre founded by His Highness the Aga Khan in partnership with the Government of Canada.

For more information:
Daniel Cervan-Gil
Manager, Programs
Global Centre for Pluralism
[email protected]

For media inquiries:
Mary O’Neill
Communications and Public Affairs Manager
Global Centre for Pluralism
[email protected]