2025 Global Pluralism Award Submissions Now Open

Global Centre for Pluralism announces a new cycle of the Global Pluralism Award, recognizing remarkable initiatives fostering positive responses to diversity

OTTAWA, CANADA, April 18, 2024 – Independent, charitable organization Global Centre for Pluralism today launched the fifth iteration of the prestigious Global Pluralism Award. Presented every two years, The Centre’s flagship Award celebrates the inspiring and brave work that is helping to build more inclusive societies where diversity is valued and protected. Individuals, organizations, businesses and government bodies are invited to apply for the Award. Third party nominations are also accepted. Submissions and nominations are open until May 17, 2024 at award.pluralism.ca.

Through innovative projects with real-world impact, recipients of the Global Pluralism Award are
building communities that value, embrace and celebrate diversity. Three winners are selected by
an independent, international jury of experts and will share a prize pool of $150,000 (CAD). The
Centre seeks to amplify the winners’ work with support such as media opportunities, partnership
development and mentorship.

“With each iteration of The Global Pluralism Award, we identify advocates for pluralism who
showcase the power of embracing diversity,” said Meredith Preston McGhie, Secretary
General of the Global Centre for Pluralism. “We are seeing backsliding in progress towards
belonging and respect for diversity around the world. In the midst of these immense challenges,
it is imperative to spotlight pluralism leaders who are building inclusive and peaceful societies.
His Highness the Aga Khan reminds us that hope is infectious – our Award laureates are and
continue to be beacons of hope and inspiration for all of us. We look forward to seeing the next
generation of changemakers whose examples can spur us all to take action.”

The 2023 Award received 200 submissions spanning 60 countries with 10 finalists selected from
Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, India, Kenya, Lebanon, Mexico, Palestine, South Africa and the
United States. Among these remarkable finalists, one individual and two organizations were
distinguished as Award winners, each making significant contributions to pluralism in distinct
fields of practice. Their remarkable achievements not only serve as concrete models for
promoting pluralism but also provide invaluable inspiration for future generations. The 2023
winners included:

Esther Omam (Cameroon) – peacebuilder, mediator and human rights defender
mobilizing women and young people from across Cameroon to advocate for an end to
Red de Intérpretes y Promotores Interculturales Asociación Civil (Mexico)
Indigenous youth collective in Oaxaca, Mexico providing otherwise unavailable
Indigenous language interpretation to those involved in legal proceedings in Mexico and
the United States;
REFORM: The Palestinian Association for Empowerment and Local Development
– non-governmental organization building solidarity between groups in
Palestine by empowering them to get involved in social life and influence

The Global Pluralism Award is an initiative of the Global Centre for Pluralism. Founded in
Ottawa by His Highness the Aga Khan in partnership with the Government of Canada, the
Centre was created to advance positive responses to the challenge of living peacefully and
productively together in diverse societies.

Following a rigorous selection process, winners will be announced in the fall of 2025.
Nominate a candidate or apply directly at award.pluralism.ca Submissions are open until
May 17, 2024

The Global Pluralism Award recognizes pluralism in action. Presented every other year to
individuals, organizations, governments and businesses from around the world, the Award
celebrates the inspiring and brave work that is helping to build more inclusive societies where
diversity is valued and protected.

The Award is conferred by the Global Centre for Pluralism, an independent, charitable
organization founded by His Highness the Aga Khan and the Government of Canada, and is
made possible in part by the generous support of TD Bank Group. For more information about
the Award, visit https://award.pluralism.ca/.


Zai Karim, Co-Founder Kapha Communications, +1-647-983-6669
Shannon Kenney, Co-Founder Kapha Communications, +1-416-770-0359