Leaders in Foreign Affairs, Philanthropy and Human Rights join international jury to select the next winners of the Global Pluralism Award

Ottawa, Canada – October 12, 2022 – Marwan Muasher, Vice President for Studies at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and former Foreign Minister of Jordan was appointed Chair of the Global Pluralism Award jury, following the conclusion of former Canadian Prime Minister the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark’s inaugural term. Two additional new members join the international jury: Reeta Roy, President and CEO of the Mastercard Foundation, one of the largest private foundations in the world, and Yásnaya Elena Aguilar Gil, Ayuujk linguist, writer, translator and Indigenous human rights activist based in Mexico.

Following a rigorous review process, the international jury will select the finalists of the fourth Global Pluralism Award from among more than 200 nominations received from 60 countries. Ten finalists will be announced in the fall of 2023, with three winners receiving CAD $50,000 each to further their work in support of pluralism.

“As the Award enters its fourth cycle, we are deeply appreciative for the contributions of our incredible jurors who have generously shared their expertise over the years. We thank our outgoing Chair, the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, for his skilled stewardship of the jury over the past six years, as well as our outgoing jurors. The new members bring valuable global perspectives about the extraordinary efforts required to advance pluralism in society. We are honoured they have joined our esteemed jury,” said Meredith Preston McGhie, Secretary General of the Global Centre for Pluralism.

“To counteract concerning global trends of division and polarisation, it is vital to recognize and uphold the organizations and individuals that are actively demonstrating that an alternative is possible. I am honoured to be working with my fellow jurors to identify the next Award recipients, and celebrate global champions of mutual respect and pluralism,” said Marwan Muasher, Chair of the Global Pluralism Award jury.

Jury members are experts in a range of disciplines related to pluralism, including policymaking, peacebuilding, human rights, interreligious dialogue, migration, media and civil society. In their own careers, they are actively promoting greater equity and fighting exclusion. Jury members appreciate first-hand the extraordinary effort it takes to build societies where differences are valued and respected.

New jurors: (alphabetical by first name)

• Dr. Marwan Muasher, Vice President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace,  Jordan (Chair)

• Ms. Reeta Roy, President and CEO, Mastercard Foundation, Canada

• Ms. Yásnaya Elena Aguilar Gil, Ayuujk linguist, writer, translator and Indigenous human rights activist, Mexico

Returning jurors: (alphabetical by first name)

• Ambassador Annika Söder, Chair, European Institute of Peace, Sweden

• Ms. Kim Ghattas, Author and journalist, Lebanon

• Bishop Precious Omuku, Archbishop of Canterbury’s Special Representative on Conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa, Nigeria

• The Honourable Ratna Omidvar, International expert on diversity and immigration,Canada


Calina Ellwand,

Senior Manager, Communications and Public Affairs, Global Centre for Pluralism


[email protected]